New banner for my blog


I’ve just downloaded a brand new banner for the top of this blog site. It was created by the wonderful Jennifer Johnson of  Sapphire Designs, based on the cover she came up with for Safe Harbor.

When I first discussed cover art with Imajin Books, the image of a small, dark-haired boy popped into my mind. Little Tommy Seaton is at the heart of the Safe Harbor story, and I wanted him to be on its cover. And he is.

That’s one of the many things I appreciate about Imajin Books. This publisher asks for input from its authors, and tries to use their ideas whenever possible.

Now, Tommy is also heading up my blog site, putting the soul of Safe Harbor right in front of visitors.

I’ve also given the site a new name: Moving Target. Because that exactly describes the process of bringing out a book. A writer spends months, perhaps even years, writing the manuscript. Then months more rewriting it. And when the book is honed and polished to its writer’s satisfaction, it may take many more months or years to find a publisher.

And that’s far from the end of the process. Since I signed my contract with Imajin, Safe Harbor has been in production for nine months — just like a human baby.

In just over three weeks, it will come out as an ebook, and the paperback will be released a month later. And at that point, my marketing campaign will swing into full gear.

The target keeps on moving.

About rosemarymccracken

Rosemary McCracken is a Toronto-based journalist and fiction writer.
This entry was posted in Launching Safe Harbor, Marketing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New banner for my blog

Leave a Reply

