Finally a Bride


I’ve been on an incredible high since Safe Harbor‘s launch party on Saturday. About 75 people, from as far away as Montreal and North Bay, turned up at the Rose and Crown to wish me well. Bouquets of roses arrived from my cousins and friend Linda Cahill. Cathy Dunphy, a writer with a wicked sense of humor, did an awesome Q&A. And I sold 82 copies of Safe Harbor.

Now I’m trilled to say that I’ve been asked to moderate the first-time authors’ panel at Bloody Words on June 1. Bloody Words, Canada’s annual crime writing conference, has been going since 1999. I was on the steering committee of the very first event, and chaired the law-and-order panel of police officers. The following year, I moderated the panel of book reviewers, and since then I’ve attended most — but not all — of the conferences. This year I’ll return to the moderator’s mike on the ‘Finally a Bride’ panel — as a published author.

The title of the panel is perfect. Being an unpublished author is  so much like being a bridesmaid and wondering when it will be your turn to walk up the aisle to the altar. “While I was going through this getting-published process, I often compared it to the desire to get married when everyone else seemed to be walking down the aisle,” says Susan Calder, whose debut novel Deadly Fall was published in March 2o11 by TouchWood Editions. It took her three years to find a publisher. “I sent queries to 27 Canadian publishers, 6 Canadian agents and about 15 US publishers and agents,” she says.

Susan will be joined by Deryn Collier (Confined Space), Gordon Cope (Secret Combinations) and Gloria Ferris (Cheat the Hangman). They’ll talk about how they kept their dreams of having their novels published alive in the face of rejection. And how those dreams finally came true.

My story as well!

About rosemarymccracken

Rosemary McCracken is a Toronto-based journalist and fiction writer.
This entry was posted in Launching Safe Harbor. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finally a Bride

  1. I love the analogy of unpublished authors being bridesmaids. It’s particularly true when you belong to an organization like Crime Writers of Canada. As an associate member, you spend time being supportive of the published authors you hope to join – even if it’s just going out to an event or commenting on a blog. You wonder if your time will ever come. When it does, those “brides” you supported are there to cheer you on.

    The other thing I like about the analogy is that, like with a bride, the excitement, work and stress don’t end with the wedding/launch. It takes ongoing work to make a marriage and book successful. You’ve been doing a great job at that Rosemary. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

