With a little help from my friends


I’ve spent the afternoon putting together a presentation on how I am currently marketing Safe Harbor. I’ll be giving it to a small group this evening, and to another group tomorrow.

I’ll be telling them about what I’ve done,  and what I should have done. What I’m doing, and what I should be doing. Because marketing and promotion should start while a writer is still looking for publisher, how it continues into the production phase and gets into full gear when the book comes out.

And what strikes me so forcibly as I get my thoughts in order is how much of book promotion comes down to sharing with others. Social media is very much about being social: Retweeting other authors’ — and other Twitter followers’ — news. Giving out good writing and marketing advice on your blog. Hosting other authors on your blog or otherwise getting the word out about their books.

And sharing extends to other efforts such as helping writers set up their book launches and attending them. Endorsing their books and reviewing them on Amazon. Inviting them to speak at book clubs, conferences, festivals. Anything that helps build the buzz about their books.

Because giving definitely results in getting. People feel the need to reciprocate with they are given something.

In the past ten months since I signed with Imajin Books, I’ve been blessed by the efforts of friends and fellow Canadian writers. And I’ve been amazed at the help strangers from around the world have given me. These writers and book lovers, who are now my virtual friends, have retweeted me, reviewed Safe Harbor, hosted me on their blogs and offered me advice.

This team work is a powerful thing. And it’s changing our book publishing landscape.

About rosemarymccracken

Rosemary McCracken is a Toronto-based journalist and fiction writer.
This entry was posted in Launching Safe Harbor, Marketing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to With a little help from my friends

  1. What a great idea!
    It’s been said that “It’s not what you know but who you know.” Now the “who” to know is a lot of people working together to help each other.

Leave a Reply

