Safe Harbor, another review


Thrilled to see a great review of Safe Harbor in Investment Executive, one of the top trade papers that serve Canada’s financial services industry. George Hartman says “our advisor-heroine applies the skills and attitudes that would make her successful in her business to the situation in which she finds herself: compassion, integrity, attention to detail, investigative questioning, reasoning and, occasionally, risk-taking.”

When I set out to write a mystery series, it didn’t take me long to settle on an investment advisor as my central character. While I’m not a financial professional myself, I am a journalist who specializes in personal finance and the financial services industry. I talk to financial advisors and investment managers. I attend their conferences. I know the issues they face and the concerns they have. And Pat Tierney embodies traits of some of the people in the industry I most admire. She cares about her clients. She’s a champion of small investors. She has sleepless nights during down markets.

And I knew that Pat’s profession would give her a great edge as an amateur sleuth. Advisors know their clients well, which means they know a lot of secrets. One of the things they know is how much money a client has, or doesn’t have. And money is a great motive for all kinds of crime. Including murder.

About rosemarymccracken

Rosemary McCracken is a Toronto-based journalist and fiction writer.
This entry was posted in Launching Safe Harbor, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

