Stacy Eaton lifts the lid on her fascination with vampires


American best-selling author Stacy Eaton is my guest on Moving Target today. Stacy is a police officer and the mother of two in southeastern Pennsylvania. When she’s not enforcing the law and running her home, she writes. My Blood Runs Blue, the first in her Officer Kristin Greene vampire series, was released in April 2011. The second in the series, Blue Blood for Life, followed that September. She’s currently working on the third novel, Mixing the Blue Blood, and hopes to see its release early in 2013.

I asked Stacy what sparked her fascination with vampires. Here’s what she says:

*

Rosemary – What a pleasure to be here with you and your readers! Thank you so much for inviting me on. We have talked a few times over the past couple of months and I when we discussed a blog post, you mentioned that you wanted to know why I wrote my vampire series. Well, hopefully your readers will be just as interested in knowing that too.

First off, for readers who don’t know anything about me, you’ll need to understand a few things. I am a very intense person, a total control freak and I work a very stressful job as a police officer. For the past twelve years I have patrolled the streets of a small township in southeastern Pennysylvania. We have everything from poverty homes to million-dollar mansions in my area. These days, I spend most of my time doing investigations. Needless to say, it can be a daunting task and a heady dose of drama on a daily basis.

Keeping that in mind, this is how I got interested in vampires. In early 2010 I had surgery and was laid up for a few months. I needed something to keep me occupied and I watched a lot of movies. Back then, Twilight was huge, and my friends told me I should watch the movies. So I watched the first movie and then the second. Okay, I will admit, I liked them, although I thought sparkling vampires were kind of odd.

Remember I said I was intense and a control freak? Well, since only two of the movies were out, I bought the full set of books, because I don’t like not knowing what will happen. I enjoyed the books and when I was done, I found I had an interest in what other authors wrote about when it came to vampires. Did they all have sparkling vampires?

So over the next few months, I read a whole lot of books with vampire themes. Some were great, some were not. But I found I had a big interest in vampires. I liked living in their worlds because they were different from the day-to-day drama in mine.

After I returned to work, I continued to enhance my fascination with vampires, and kept reading more and more. One night I was working and it was late. I got out of the car to stretch my legs and get some fresh air. I was in one of our parks, and it had a line of trees along one side.

I stood there that night and saw a pair of eyes looking back at me. They were pretty high off the ground, so I didn’t think they belonged to an animal, but who knows? Anyway, the eyes looked at me, and I returned the look. A few minutes later they were gone. I have no idea what or who they were, but it got my imagination going.

You have to remember that I was driving around in the dark, alone. The radio was silent and most people were home safe in their beds. As I drove around I started looking at houses with lights on and wondered, why are you up? Are you a vampire?

I wondered what would happen if I was in trouble, if I was fighting for my life with a bad guy and a vampire was around. Would it stop to help me?

And bingo! I had a plot line. By the end of my weekend shift, I knew where my story would go. On Monday afternoon I sat down and typed up the first four chapters. My husband laughed at me when I told him I was writing a book and thought it was even funnier when I told him it was a book about cops and vampires working together. Little did we both know how well the My Blood Runs Blue series would be received!

So if you want to know more about me, well you will need to read the series, because the staring character, Officer Kristin Greene is me – heart and soul.

Rosemary, thank you again for allowing me to visit. I hope you and your readers have enjoyed my post today.

 *

My Blood Runs Blue:
“I’m still a cop, and my blood runs blue.”

Officer Kristin Greene has always felt that something was missing from her life. Although her job with the Fawn Hollow Township Police Department keeps her busy, she still feels like there is something else out there for her. She soon finds herself investigating a homicide where a young woman has had her throat ripped out. As she begins to dig for the answers, she finds herself thrown into a world she didn’t know ever existed. When the two strong and silent men walk into her life, she finds herself being pulled into a love triangle that has been going on longer than she has been alive. Who are they and why do they keep calling her Calista? Join Kristin as she fights to learn the truth about the recent murder, the two seductive men who have entered into her life and the real truth about herself.

To watch the video trailer click here.

 Blue Blood for Life:

“You belong to me… for life…”

After a month off, Kristin comes back to work happier then she’s been in a long time. Her new status in life has her solving crimes faster and better than she ever could before. When Alex goes missing, Kristin finds she finally has to reveal the secrets of her life to her friends. Will they be able to stand beside her after they learn all that she has hidden from them? Julian and Gabe stand beside her faithfully as they try to locate Alex. They are surprised to find Trent already in Fawn Hollow, but know that Trent may be the only one to do what Alex has asked them to do. As one more choice is taken away from Kristin, she attempts to make the best of it, but finds herself drawn to Trent in a way Julian and Alexander could never compare to. Trent goes to work with Kristin to keep her safe but will he be able to handle all that her police world entails? Can he handle the side of her that she reveals, the one that Alex and Julian know nothing about? When Kristin and Trent uncover the connection between her job and the kidnapping, they are finally able to put the pieces together, but can they get to Alex fast enough? Will Kristin be able to handle rescuing Alex and all that she learns in the process? Join Kristin, Julian, Trent and Alexander as they dive into a new mystery that will have you turning the pages quickly to find out who is responsible and how Kristin’s life is forever changed once again.

For the video trailer, click here.

Follow Stacy on her website, her blog, on Facebook and on Twitter.

About rosemarymccracken

Rosemary McCracken is a Toronto-based journalist and fiction writer.
This entry was posted in Authors to watch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stacy Eaton lifts the lid on her fascination with vampires

  1. Stacy Eaton says:

    Thank you Rosemary!! So glad I could stop on by and answer your question!!!

Leave a Reply

