On the other side of the interview table


As a journalist, I’ve been interviewing people for decades for my newspaper and magazine articles. I love talking to people — on the telephone and in person — about the work they do and the lives they lead. I try to put them at ease so that they will give me the very best possible interview. And in these good interviews, a special chemistry develops between interviewer and interviewee as we bounce ideas off each other. I come away from those talks walking on air!

But I haven’t been interviewed very much myself. After so many years in the interviewer’s chair, trying learn as much as I can about my subject, I can’t quite get my head around the idea that someone might want to know about me. Am I interesting enough to hold an interviewer’s attention? Even more important, is Safe Harbor interesting enough?

So when Barry Eva in Connecticut scheduled me on his radio show, A Book and A Chat, this morning, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Barry has spoken to hundreds of authors, and I assumed that most of them have far more interesting stories to tell than I do. I was just a bit uneasy.

I needn’t have worried. Barry’s a laid-back guy who knows exactly how to put people at ease. And, like all good interviewers, he knows that everyone has a story to tell. We chatted about Safe Harbor‘s journey to publication, about creating characters, about writing a novel in first person vs third, and about a lot of other things. You can listen to the show by clicking here.

About rosemarymccracken

Rosemary McCracken is a Toronto-based journalist and fiction writer.
This entry was posted in Launching Safe Harbor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

