It’s not work…when it goes into something you love


A lot of time goes into promoting Safe Harbor. Last night, I joined fellow writer Steve Shrott and we spoke about crime writing at a Toronto library. We’ll be another library next Thursday. I blog, I tweet, I post on Facebook, and I get on tweet teams, which involves re-tweeting team members’ tweets. I write guest posts on book bloggers’ sites. If I see an opportunity to talk up Safe Harbor, I go for it. And there’s probably a lot more I could be doing to create opportunities.

Safe Harbor Front300dpiThere’s no doubt about it, book promotion is time-consuming, but I don’t consider it work. I enjoy it. I enjoy reaching out and networking with other authors. I enjoy seeing what works to get Safe Harbor into the hands of readers – and finding out what doesn’t. I am so fortunate to have a novel that I can promote that I can’t complain about the time that goes into it.

Those of you who are parents will know exactly what I mean. You make time to teach your pre-schoolers the alphabet and their numbers so they’ll have a leading edge when they enter Grade One. Safe Harbor is my baby so why would I begrudge anything I can do to give it a good start?

The literary landscape has changed in the past few years. Safe Harbor arrived on the scene at a time when authors are responsible for the lion’s share of the work of book promotion. I didn’t have a book out in the halcyon days when publishers took on most the work, so I have nothing to compare my present situation to. I’m fortunate in that respect.

Those of you writers who were published during the golden age of book publishing, stop complaining and get on with the business of promoting your baby. The publishing world has changed. You may need to change with it.

About rosemarymccracken

Rosemary McCracken is a Toronto-based journalist and fiction writer.
This entry was posted in Launching Safe Harbor, Marketing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

