Ring in the new year!


The year 2013 is off to a great start. Yesterday, New Year’s Day, saw 21 online sales and 61 borrows of Safe Harbor. As you probably know, AmazonPrime members can borrow selected ebooks on Amazon, and writers receive almost as much payment per borrow as per sale. Omens, I hope, of more good things to come this year.

I was also delighted to see that author Vinny O’Hare in New York City posted my guest blog last night. I wrote about how writing contests can help launch a writer’s career. I’m a big fan of contests, as you probably know if you’ve been following this blog. Read the thoughts I shared on them with Vinny and his followers here. I included a few good links as well!

Looking back on 2012, the year was studded with highlights. On March 7, Safe Harbor was released as an ebook, followed by the paperback release on April 1. On May 5, I held my first book launch at the Rose and Crown pub in Toronto. On June 1, I moderated the Finally A Bride panel at Bloody Words, a convention I’ve attended almost every year  since its inception in 1999 — and I was finally there with my very own novel. On  June 17, the wonderful Jack Batten gave Safe Harbor a great review in The Toronto Star, and that was followed by a terrific review in Investment Executive on July 27. On Aug. 6, I took part in the Sustainable Words Festival in Minden, Ont., and on Sept. 23, Safe Harbor and I were front and centre at Crime Writers of Canada’s booth at Word on the Street in Toronto.

Two special moments occurred shortly before Christmas. One, when Sleuth of Baker Street, Toronto’s mystery book store, phoned to say it had run out copies of Safe Harbor, and could I get some more to them quickly? Another was when Sally Moore up in the Haliburton Highlands emailed to ask where she could get copies of Safe Harbor for her book club to read for its January meeting. Readers may not know how happy they make authors when they give them positive Amazon reviews and let them know in other ways that they enjoyed their books.

The list of happy memories goes on and on. There’s probably nothing quite as special as launching your debut novel.

About rosemarymccracken

Rosemary McCracken is a Toronto-based journalist and fiction writer.
This entry was posted in Launching Safe Harbor and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

