BLACK WATER: Day Two


BLACK WATER had a terrific launch yesterday!

The day opened with a guest blog post on Mystery Maven Canada. I was tickled pink to be a guest on this site that has hosted many of the most notable Canadian crime fiction writers.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000040_00071]The cyber launch party got under way around 9:30 a.m., and I was terribly nervous beforehand. I’d actually been dreading it for weeks. What if nobody comes? And if they do turn up, what will I do? What will I say?

You’ve heard the saying “If you build it, they will come” (misquoting “If you build it, he will come” from Field of Dreams)? Well, that’s exactly what happened. DeNita Tuttle set up the Facebook party page, and I invited my Facebook buddies and sent emails out to anyone else I could think of who was on Facebook. And they came! The only downside to this kind of party was that only those on Facebook could get there. And not everyone is on Facebook.

It helped to be prepared. I’d researched a number of interesting–fascinating to me–“money” criminals. Bank robbers, thieves and, of course, white collar con artists. That’s because Pat Tierney, the central character of my novels, works in the world of finance. I threw these tidbits out, and they sparked conversation. It was enormous fun!

We also got onto a lot of other topics. Sue McLeod, a fellow Imajin author in the United States, thought a typo I’d made was a quaint Canadian expression. That set off a discussion of Canadian idioms and idiosyncratic Canadian cuisine. Sue thought fiddleheads were a type of fish.

By the time 10 p.m. rolled around I was  wiped. There were still people at the party, but I had to say my adieus. Just before I headed off, BLACK WATER had hit #84 in Amazon.ca’s paid Kindle store, #4 in women sleuths and #11 in suspense. I went to bed on a cloud of rapture!

The blog tour continues today! I’m the guest on Melodie Campbell — Author, As the Pages Turn, and An Interview with the Dark Phantom.

The BLACK WATER Giveaway Contest is still open. Enter it here.

And you can still buy BLACK WATER for 99 cents…for the next few days!

About rosemarymccracken

Rosemary McCracken is a Toronto-based journalist and fiction writer.
This entry was posted in Launching Black Water and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

