BLACK WATER: Day Four


Day Four of The Great BLACK WATER Blog Tour! Today, I’m talking to Michael J. McCann in the Limerick Forest south of Ottawa and Alison Bruce in Guelph, Ontario.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000040_00071]Michael, author of the Donaghue and Stainer crime novels, asks me what impact my journalism background has on my fiction writing. Years of interviewing people for newspaper and magazine articles has definitely helped with writing dialogue for characters. It’s fine-tuned my ear to the nuances of how different people speak. But journalism also trained me to report facts. I had to learn to loosen up, use my imagination and write more description that journalism calls for. Read the interview with Michael here.

Over in Guelph, Imajin Books author Alison Bruce notes that family drama is a key component of my novels. She wants to know why I focus on certain family issues. The answer, of course, comes from my characters. I’m a character-driven writer, and the issues always spring from the characters themselves. Read the interview with Alison here.

And when you’ve read these two great interviews…there’s still more! Hop over to an interview with author Anne K. Edwards. And to another interview on She Writes.

When you’ve finished reading them, you’ll probably know more about me and my writing than my husband does!

BLACK WATER is still 99 cents…for a few more days! You can buy it here.

About rosemarymccracken

Rosemary McCracken is a Toronto-based journalist and fiction writer.
This entry was posted in Launching Black Water, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to BLACK WATER: Day Four

  1. Rosemary, I just want to take the opportunity to thank you very much for appearing on my blog, The Overnight Bestseller. It was a pleasure to interview you, and I was very pleased and impressed with your detailed responses. All the best with Black Water; I know it’s going to be a hit! Mike.

  2. JackieW says:

    Enjoyed reading about your book Black Water. It sounds like one that I might suggest my Mystery book club read…we haven’t had a theme of “Ocean mysteries” yet…I think I’ll suggest it to my book leader and mention this book as well.

    • Thank you for dropping by the site, Jackie. But Black Water isn’t an “ocean mystery.” It’s set in Ontario lake country, at the time of year when the ice is breaking up on the lakes–exposing deadly black water.

  3. JOYE says:

    Enjoyed visiting your site. I have yet to read one of your books. They do sound really good and I have added your name to my TBR list.

Leave a Reply

