Who’s behind NEFARIOUS NORTH?


NN cover13 Final 300NEFARIOUS NORTH, an anthology of crime fiction by 16 authors, launched last week. I’m one of those 16 writers, and I’m delighted to be part of this caper!

The anthology was the brain-child of Karen Blake-Hall. Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing this hard-working Canadian writer on Moving Target:

Q. Karen, you predominately write romantic suspense. When did youPromo-2-150x150 start writing crime fiction?

A. I used to write strictly romance stories, then one day a serial killer popped onto my computer screen. At first, I was apprehensive about this character’s presence in my story, but we worked things out. And I’ve been writing romantic suspense ever since.

Q. Why did you decide to compile a crime fiction anthology?

A. I’m laughing because this was funny. I’m on the executive for Sisters in Crime Toronto, and they decided to compile an anthology, The Whole She-Bang. I decided to enter the competition. I’d never written a short story before but I felt I should support the organization. To my surprise, “The Hunter” was selected for book. It was so much fun being in an anthology that I decide to pay it forward. I sent out emails to several friends and invited them to submit stories. After they agreed, I had to get to work on the anthology. The next thing I knew, NEFARIOUS NORTH was launched.

Q. What does crime fiction allow you to explore as a writer?

A. I could write a thesis on this.  As a romance writer, I write about the emotional turmoil of falling in love. As a crime fiction writer, I write about the “whys” of human behaviour. Why does a stalker stalk? Why does a serial killer kill?  This intrigues me.

Q. Why do you enjoy reading anthologies?

A. The short story format fits well into my hectic schedule. I love to read so I can grab my e-reader and finish a story from beginning to end. My story craving is totally satisfied, and I can return to work.

Q. Tell us what’s in NEFARIOUS NORTH.

A. We have 27 stories by 16 talented authors. Some of the authors were previously published, like yourself, Rosemary, and Helen Nelson, Karen Dales, Stephanie Bedwell-Grime, Cindy Carroll, Tyner Gillies and Steve Shrott. I also included some talented first-time authors. It was wonderful to work with Patricia Kennedy,  Linda Cahill, Jeffrey Charles, Graham Freeman, Rick Gustafson, Ray Livingston, Heather Mac Archer and Kollene McKeown.

Q. Tell us about the stories in NEFARIOUS NORTH.

A. All the stories revolve around a crime. That was the essential element to them, but some of the stories also have a paranormal slant, which I think it adds depth to these them.

Q. Will there be a sequel?

A. I’m still trying to get my head around the fact that NEFARIOUS NORTH has been released and is being enjoyed by readers…so there may be a sequel.

Q. I’ve heard that you are a steady, prolific writer. What’s your secret to getting words down on the page, Karen?

A. I write 100 words a day. They have to be new words so when I’ve finished editing I still have to write my 100 words for the day. And I usually don’t stop at 100. I get two or three pages done each day, more on days I don’t have to go into work. But if all I get done is two pages every day for seven days then I have 14 pages or more than a chapter every week. At the end of the year, I’ve written 52 chapters!

Thank you for this interview, Rosemary!

* * *

Visit Karen’s website at http://www.karenblake-hall.com
Follow Karen on Twitter: https://twitter.com/Karenblakehall

You can purchase NEFARIOUS NORTH on Amazon.ca and Amazon.com.Check out its website at http://nefariousnorth.com/

About rosemarymccracken

Rosemary McCracken is a Toronto-based journalist and fiction writer.
This entry was posted in Authors to watch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

