A real-life mystery


Seven years ago, in 2007, Crime Writers of Canada held its first Arthur Ellis contest for Canada’s Best Unpublished First Crime Novel (The Unhanged Arthur). The five authors on that year’s shortlist were:

  • Jennifer Hemstock, Murder in a Cold Climate
  • Meika Erinn McClurg, Ego Tenderloin
  • Rosemary McCracken, Last Date
  • Phyllis Smallman, Margarita Nights
  • Kevin Thornton, Condemned

All five of us attended the Arthur Ellis awards banquet on June 7 of that year,  and I particularly remember Meika McClurg. She was lovely, with a pretty face, long blonde hair and an outgoing personality. She suggested that, when she and I ware published, we go on a book tour together.

I’ve often wondered what became of Meika.  I’d assumed that her novel would be published in short order, and her winning ways would help market it to the moon. But I never heard anything more about her.

Today Kevin Thornton emailed this link: http://lapdblog.typepad.com/lapd_blog/2012/10/missing-person-meika-erinn-mcclurg.html  In October 2012, Meika apparently went missing in California. My attempts to find anything subsequent to the report proved fruitless.

I’d like to know the outcome. I only hope it’s a happy ending.

About rosemarymccracken

Rosemary McCracken is a Toronto-based journalist and fiction writer.
This entry was posted in Contests and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A real-life mystery

  1. Linda Cahill says:

    OMG what an incredible story, poor thing,poor family. Good to publicize it you never know.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Meika says:

    Hi Rosemary! I had a bad experience in LA, but I’m moving on. Everyone in my family, all of us, are doing well, if you would like to know. I have the best family in the world, and there are so many amazing people out there too! I hope you are well. Me, I’m so happy to be back in my country, America, land of the strong, free and brave! I’m sure you might choose words you love that best describe your country of Canada. I go by Meika Arin now.

    Take Care,

    Meika

  3. Meika says:

    I might add that I experienced so much anti-Americanism while living there. I’m sure not all of you would do such a thing but it certainly affected me, and I think these things appear merely judgemental or cultural but actually can do harm. However, it isn’t fair of me to pronounce the entire country as being a little anti-American. A country is made up of people, and perhaps some might never feel that. But we are our country, aren’t we? We make up the gorgeous country to which we belong. All the best.

Leave a Reply

