Getting ready to party!


RAVEN LAKE will released on Amazon on Wednesday June 1, and it’s available for pre-orders right now. I’ll start a seven-day blog tour Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000040_00070]on June 1, and on Sunday June 5, from 4-7 p.m. ET, I’ll celebrate with a Facebook party. Click here to reach the party site.

I sent out invites to the Facebook party today, and I’m worried that I may not have been clear that this will be a cyber party. A couple of people have replied asking me for directions to the venue. No, the June 5 party is an ONLINE party. We’ll gather on Facebook and kick up our heels there. They’ll be prizes and other authors to chat with. I remember what a blast my BLACK WATER Facebook party was three years ago. It gained a wonderful momentum, and my fingers were literally flying over the keys.

But I WILL have a bookstore launch. I’m thrilled that the party will take place at my favourite bookstore, Sleuth of Baker Street, in Toronto’s Leaside neighbourhood. It will be on Saturday June 25, from 2-4 p.m. Having a Sleuth book launch has been one of my dreams!

I was apprehensive about setting up the Facebook party site. But it proved to be surprisingly easy when I got down to it this morning, thanks to the coaching of friends Kristina Stanley and Melodie Campbell. Here’s what you do:

  • Go to your Author page (which is why I set up an Author’s page in March) and click on Offer, Event+ under page banner, then click on Event.
  • On the form that pops up, make sure the blue strip at the top says that the page you are creating is a public event.
  • Add a photo  to the banner box. I toyed around with creating a banner, but ended up using part of my RAVEN LAKE cover photo–just the figure in the kayak.
  • Fill in all the boxes on the form: a short, clear name for the event; location (I should have put online here); the date and the hours; category (select books); and a short descripton.
  • Hit Publish.
  • Scroll down the party page you have created, and hit Invite Friends on the right side of the page.
  • Post reminders in coming days. And on the morning of the party.

 

 

 

 

 

About rosemarymccracken

Rosemary McCracken is a Toronto-based journalist and fiction writer.
This entry was posted in Launching Raven Lake, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting ready to party!

  1. Hi Rosemary, thanks for the shoutout. I’m looking forward to the launch party. Congrats on your upcoming release.

Leave a Reply

